I Took A Break

Have you ever wanted to take a break from life? A break from the busyness, the always on-the-go state of existence, the microwave mentality that drives us over the edge when things arent’ done in an instant. Well I have. And I did.

Last week I took a break from it all. A break from constantly being rushed. From feeling overwhelmed by all the things I had to do in a day. A break from peeking into other’s lives on social media and actually focusing on my life. And it was amazing!

One of my biggest goals this year was to be more present and to learn to manage my time more wisely. I wanted my days to be productive without the pressure of actually getting things done. Honestly guys, I learned that when I don’t manage my time correctly it only leads to me feeling rushed to get from one task to the other, which then causes me to feel stressed, which then causes me to feel annoyed, which then in turn leads me to be irritated. Can you say Momzilla? See what I’m getting at?

Lack of proper time management= unproductiveness = stress.

I stopped procrastinating. I did what I needed to do when it needed to be done. No waiting. No putting things off for later. And my days went by without a moment of stress or rush. I did so much that it sounds kind of ironic that I’m saying “I took a break”, but that is literally what I did. I took a break from the stress and the rush.

I invested in myself. Before I took care of those in my world I took care of myself, both spiritually and physically. I did me. And then I took care of those who get to do life with me. My evenings where not spent with me scrolling through social media but instead flipping page after page of novels, and playing with my kids…like actually getting on the floor and building stuff with them. I didn’t reply to messages right away. I didn’t check my email every 10 minutes. The world could wait. I lived in the moment. In the present. Away from a glowing screen. Don’t ask me what happened in the world last week because I sure can’t tell you, but I can tell you what happened in mine. ♥

Maybe it’s the fact that I’m now 30 years old that has caused me to evaluate a lot of areas in my life. Or maybe it’s the Lord teaching me to count my days. Whichever one it is of this I am sure, life goes by too quickly.

So I encourage you to slow down. Enjoy life. Be wise with the time the Lord gives you. Put the phone down. Log out of the cyber world and log in to the real world. Take a break from the hustle and bustle and simply live.

“Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”- Moses, Psalm 90:12

One thought on “I Took A Break

Leave a Reply

